A New Clinician of the Year Award

      The Foundation for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine is thrilled to report that in December 2019 the Foundation Board voted to develop a new excellence award to recognize the interdisciplinary roles within the membership of AMDA – The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine. The Clinician of the Year Award was developed to honor a licensed health care provider who is directly involved in the treatment and care of older adults. Dr. Heidi White, MD, MEd, CMD, a member of the Foundation Board, chaired the subcommittee, and the other committee members were Jamyl Walker, MSN, APRN, AGNP-C; Patricia L. Bach, PsyD, MS, RN; and Eric Hasemeier, DO, MBA, CMD. The plan is to present the first award in 2022, whether in person or online. As with other Society awards, this award will be presented at a General Session during the Society’s Annual Conference. The following includes the purpose and criteria for the award.
      Purpose: The Clinician of the Year Award recognizes a practitioner in the PALTC continuum who embodies excellence in patient/resident care.

      Eligibility Criteria

      • Settings of practice: Can be a skilled facility, private practice/practice management group, assisted living, or Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) program.
      • Society member in good standing.
      • Licensed practitioner providing direct care in PALTC settings including mental health practitioner, advanced practice nurse, or physician.

      Nomination or Evaluation Criteria

      • High level of professional competence, including ethical and social issues.
      • Recognized as a strong advocate for patients/residents.
      • Excellent collaborator with members of the interdisciplinary team. Nominee is someone who is recognized as a role model by his or her peers.
      • High level of exemplary interaction with patients/residents and families.
      • Community involvement in community medical services, professional organizations, and/or other contributions to the community.
      The AMDA Foundation Board would like to take the opportunity to encourage members to consider nominees for this award. The award itself acknowledges the interdisciplinary nature of the Society and the importance of recognizing all members of the interdisciplinary team. The Foundation has long worked to support care to older adults across all post-acute settings via inclusion of all providers in Foundation-supported activities such as the Futures Program and a variety of supported research and quality improvement projects.
      Given the advent of COVID-19, the need for all members of the interdisciplinary team and expert clinicians has been amplified. For all of us working in this industry, we have had to balance the 24-hour-a-day management of keeping patients/residents free of infection as well as trying to optimize their quality of life. Although accolades have more frequently gone to those working in acute care settings rather than those of us working in the PALTC arena, we have all seen heroes at work.
      Please take a minute to think about these individuals and identify the exemplary clinicians in your settings or organizations. This type of award can serve as an important thank you to those individuals. We anticipate accepting applications soon after the 2021 Annual Meeting. We hope to see you all there!
      Dr. Resnick is the Sonya Ziporkin Gershowitz Chair in Gerontology at the University of Maryland School of Nursing in Baltimore. She is also a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for Caring for the Ages.